Fromage du mois - Neufchâtel
milk-bottle RAW MILK SOFT CHEESE AOP

The Neufchâtel

AOP - TO TASTE WITH AN APRICOT JAM

The Neufchâtel gets its name from the village of Neufchâtel-en-Bray, situated in Normandy in northwestern France. It is made from whole milk from a cow breed from Normandy, mostly raw. It is refined/matured in cellars at least 10 days and up to several weeks to please the connoisseurs!

The consumption of Neufchâtel grew strongly in the nineteenth century and it obtained the Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée (PDO) in 1969. But its history goes back much further, since some writings of the eleventh century already mention the existence of this cheese.

As for its shape of a heart, if one believes the legend, it finds its origin with the young norman girls who offered these cheeses to the English soldiers present in Normandy during the Hundred Years War (XIVe and XVe centuries) to declare their love to them. Today the Neufchâtel is exported to all continents!

Find out more

Fromage du mois - Neufchâtel
Lait cru LAIT CRU PâTE MOLLE AOP

LE NEUFCHÂTEL

FROMAGE AOP - A DéGUSTER AVEC UNE CONFITURE D'ABRICOT

Le Neufchâtel tient son nom du village de Neufchâtel-en-Bray, en Normandie dans le nord-ouest de la France. Il est fabriqué à partir de lait entier de vache de race Normande et il est affiné en cave au minimum 10 jours et jusqu’à plusieurs semaines pour satisfaire les connaisseurs !

La consommation de Neufchâtel a connu une forte expansion au XIXe siècle et il a obtenu une Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée en 1969 mais son histoire remonte à beaucoup plus loin puisque certains écrits du XIe siècle mentionnent déjà l’existence du fromage.

Quant à sa forme de cœur, si on en croit la légende, elle aurait pour origine les jeunes filles normandes qui offraient ces fromages aux soldats anglais présents en Normandie lors de la Guerre de Cent Ans (XIVe et XVe siècles) pour leur déclarer leur amour…

En Savoir Plus